Southern Estonia cooperation

On 24 January 2020, the representatives of five counties of Southern Estonia gathered in the Town Hall of Tartu to sign a cooperation agreement.

The agreement was concluded to express the firm belief of the development organisations of these five Southern Estonian counties and the City of Tartu that by acting together, one can make the whole more than the sum of its parts.

The aim is to open up new avenues for improving the wellbeing and prosperity of people who live in Southern Estonia.

Through the development of infrastructure, one can support growth and employment and bring the world closer to Southern Estonia.

The general, vocational and higher education curricula have to be attuned to current and emerging labour market needs.

Better public health improves the wellbeing and happiness of families.

Culture gives meaning to the world and human existence, while free-flowing creativity is fuelling both businesses as well as artists with new ideas.

We believe that by pooling resources, we can go further!

Our cooperation will focus on developing the following areas:

  • Infrastructure
  • Education and life-long learning
  • Economic development and labour market
  • Healthcare, welfare and human resources
  • Culture and tourism.

The Parties to the Agreement are:

Jõgevamaa Development and Business Centre Foundation

Association of Põlvamaa Municipalities, non-profit organisation

Tartu City Government

Association of Tartumaa Municipalities, non-profit organisation

Association of Valgamaa Municipalities, non-profit organisation

Võrumaa Development Centre Foundation